Oracle RMAN – ORA-07446: sdnfy: bad value

As I am playing with all the backup and recovery scenario using RMAN in my environment, I hit this error.

RMAN> startup nomount;
RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
RMAN-00569: =============== ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS ===============
RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
RMAN-03002: failure of startup command at 08/05/2013 17:32:12
RMAN-04014: startup failed: ORA-00444: background process "MMAN" failed while starting
ORA-07446: sdnfy: bad value '' for parameter .

Solution:

  1. Check your pfile/spfile for any misconfigured parameters.  Most of the time, it got to do with your bdump, udump or cdump.
  2. Make sure the directory specified is valid

For me, after I created the bdump and cdump folder, it was okay.

RMAN> startup nomount;
Oracle instance started
Total System Global Area 1895825408 bytes
Fixed Size 2097312 bytes
Variable Size 771755872 bytes
Database Buffers 1107296256 bytes
Redo Buffers 14675968 bytes

I sincerely apologize for my lack of updates in the month of July. It was totally hectic. Work and studies are crawling all over me. As I start to work on my backup and recovery skills, I will update this blog along the way!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

